If only…

A while back, I had posted a comment on Facebook about having found an old playlist from my brief time on WXLV. A friend of mine, who was also a DJ for the station, commented that I should send him a copy. Well, Stan, maybe this’ll do ya 🙂

I can’t even begin to explain how much I miss being on the air. The joy I felt each Saturday morning and Sunday evening for four months. The planning and prep for my show, “Radio Nowhere” – I’m sure there must have been an easier way…

These days, the closest thing I’ve found to creating unique playlists for radio is with 8tracks.com. This time around, I created a 24 track list to show what my desired format would be like if I could get back into radio, sort of classic rock, singer-songwriter, interesting contemporary americana/alternative.

http://8tracks.com/editor2am/back-on-the-air

Do me a favor? Head on over to that link and listen straight through as best as you can. Meanwhile, here I’ll explain why I chose some of the tunes that I chose. Some of the songs will not be a surprise if you had ever tuned into my show, or if you know me at all even 🙂 Sort of an updated “Radio Nowhere” playlist. I just wanna hear some rhythm…

2. Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers, Stories We Could Tell – Always the Petty fan, I love Pack Up The Plantation. I like how this tells the story of the stories any artist could retell from time spent on the road. And if you ever wonder why you ride this carousel…”

8. Dylan LeBlanc, I Don’t Wanna Know – Within the past few months, I have acquired not one, but TWO Rumours tribute albums. This young guy hales from Louisiana and his rendition of this Fleetwood Mac tune really wows me more every time I hear it. This particular album came from Mojo Magazine.

14. Bonnie Raitt, Streetlights – This title track from the album of the same name became a favorite of mine almost immediately upon hearing it. I got into Bonnie a bit in the late 80s, early 90s when I found that my parents had been into her music and had seen her play live when they first got together. Last year what the first time I got to see her perform. I knew I needed to know more of her catalog than her radio hits. I get a different meaning from this song with every listen.

21. Badger Cannon, The Susquehanna – This song comes from a band whose front man and lead guitarist I know from school. He and his band mates do their jammin’ in the Knoxville area… and yet this rocker speaks of the river near where we grew up in Southern PA. My favorite off Tall Tales, Vol. 1 http://www.reverbnation.com/badgercannon

23 and 24. Jackson Browne, The Load Out and Stay. These are two songs I would almost always play together. It doesn’t feel right for me to leave either as a stand alone, and it really pains me to hear that done on the radio… especially when it’s The Load Out that abruptly cuts out into… ???

Well, I hope that you enjoy the playlist. Unfortunately, 8tracks only allows so many skips (sorry). So let me know what you think.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

