Why make resolutions against things that aren’t so bad?

Ok, so the last post for the magic prompt was kind of lame. In my opinion. Simply because it was something I wrote a few months ago. The real intent for my writing today was to show you all some sort of reflection on the past year of my life. (Spoiler: this post doesn’t end up being much of a reflection on anything but last night.)

The most amazing inspiration for me to stumble upon this morning came from Tori Thomas, a DJ for WMMR… “My mom used to say that whatever you’re doing at the stroke of midnight on New Year’s Eve will influence your life for the rest of the year. I’ve always believed that. Make it a great night!” https://www.facebook.com/torithomasradio

Now, upon initial examination of last night’s events, my tendency to over think and seek out the negative points first reared its ugly head. I said “Hmmm I was once again trying to tap a perfect draft for an awesome and patient man. Guess I’ll be bartending this year just like I’ve been for the last five…” However, the guy standing next to me, attempting to fix the tap, is a friend. And I wasn’t working at a bar, but helping him with his keg. His response to Tori’s comment was that maybe it just meant in the coming year he’d be right my side more often…

I suppose the more general conclusion I could pull from this is that I was hanging out with good people instead of making myself more of a lonely soul by my (almost) insistence to stay home alone on New Years Eve. Maybe it’s not where I should have been… I probably should have been at work. But I took a little bit of a physical and mental health unpaid night off. It was a fun night with some of the best, newest friends I’ve made in the Valley. Didn’t get into too much trouble. And it was an awesome end to 2013!

(By the way, the name of the song is “Leave My Blues at Home”.)

Leave a Reply

